Lanka Premier League 2020 Cricket Tournament has started yesterday (November 26, 2020) at the ‘’Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium’’ in Hambantota, in the Southern Province of Sri Lanka.

This is the first tournament organized after 8 years with the participation of foreign players. Therefore, Sri Lankan cricket fans are paying more attention to it. This topic has became so popular in social media these days.

The opening ceremony began yesterday at 6.45 pm Sri Lanka time. Various items were presented to show Sri Lankan traditions.

According to the tournament organizers, five teams will be playing in the tournament and all arrangements have been made to hold 23 matches over 15 days.

These are the five teams and their leaders.

1 - COLOMBO KINGS -   Angelo Mathews

2 - KANDY TUSKERS     -   Kusal Janith Perera

 3 - JAFFNA STALLIONS -   Thisara Perera

4 - GALL GLADIATORS  -    Shahid Afridi

5 - DAMBULLA VIKING –  Dasun Shanaka

After the preliminary round matches, the top four in the bonus points table will advance to the semi-finals. The final match will be held on December 16, 2020.All matches will be played only at the ‘’Mahinda Rajapaksha cricket Stadium’’ in Hambantota. It has been stated that the current pandemic has caused it.

The first match was between the Colombo Kings led by former Sri Lanka Cricket captain Angelo Mathews and the Kandy Tuskers led by Kusal Janith Perera yesterday. The match started at 8 p.m. after the opening ceremony. In that match, the Colombo Kings got great victory after supper over.

Raveendra Wimalasiri and Lyndon Hannibal were the umpires for the first match. And The third umpire was Ruchira PalliyaGuruge. And the referee was Graeme Labrooy. 

** Following were the list of the players of Colombo Kings who played in the first match.

1  Angelo Mathews (C)

2  Andre Russel (West Indies)

3  Laurie Evans (England)

4  Manpreet Singh Gony (India)

5  Qais Ahmad (Afghanistan)

6  Dinesh Chandimal (WC)

7  Ashan Priyanjana

8  Thikshila De Silva

9  Isuru Udana

10 Dushmantha Chameera

11 Amila Aponso

** Following were the list of the players of Kandy tuskers who played in the first match.

 1  Kusal Janith Perera (C) & (WC)

 2  Irfan Pathan (India)

           3 Rahmanullah   Gurbaz (Afghanistan)

 4  Naveen Ul Haq (Afghanistan)

 5  Kusal Mendis

 6  Nuwan Pradeep

 7  Seekkuge Prasanna

 8  Asela Gunarathne

 9  Kimidu Mendis

10 Lasith Embuldeniya

11 Kavisha Anjula

Due to the prevailing pandemic situation in the country, all activities related to the tournament have to be done in accordance with health regulations.

Accordingly, cricket fans will not be allowed to watch any of these matches from the stadium. So, All matches have to be watched on television and online. also, A selected team can enter the stadium only after quarantine.

It is broadcast on ‘’Wasantham TV’’ in Sri Lanka and on many international TV channels for sports broadcasts all over the world. You can also watch all these matches through the official YouTube channel of Sri Lankan Cricket.

Many experts say that this tournament will be a turning point in the history of cricket in Sri Lanka. We wish it success.

The Hambanthota Cricket Ground

The Trophy

The Ground


Popular posts from this blog

A New Way to Produce Milk.